Gluten Free Food Standards

///Gluten Free Food Standards
Gluten Free Food Standards2016-11-21T10:20:54+00:00
Gluten Free logo

The rising demand for gluten-free food options within the University of Toronto and North America at large is fueled by a combination of health concerns and dietary preferences.

In response to this demand, Food Services has created Gluten Content Standards that will increase awareness of the gluten-free foods available to consumers while ensuring that clearly defined labeling standards are maintained across the St. George campus.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is the name of a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, spelt and kamut. Traces of gluten may also be found in commercial oats and related cereal grains/triticale due to contact with gluten-containing grains at the facility where they are processed.

Why Go Gluten Free?barley

Some people may choose or be required to remove gluten from their diet due to health concerns such as Celiac Disease or Gluten Intolerance.

Celiac Disease is a lifelong inherited autoimmune medical condition where gluten causes the body to produce antibodies that attack the body’s own tissues. This damages the lining of the small intestine, which stops the body from absorbing nutrients and can eventually lead to malnutrition.

Individuals with a Gluten Intolerance on the other hand may experience symptoms such as diarrhoea, constipation, cramps, bloating and gas when they eat gluten. In contrast to Celiac Disease however, Gluten Intolerance does not result in damage to the small intestines.

Gluten Content Standards: Certified Gluten Free

Health Canada defines Gluten Free as a product that contains no more than 20 mg/kg of gluten in total, and does not contain any of the following items:

Atta (chapatti flour), Barley (flakes, flour, pearl), Beer, Breading and bread stuffing, Brewer’s yeast, Bulgur, Couscous, Croutons, Durum, Einkorn, Farina, Fu, Graham flour, Hydrolyzed wheat protein, Kamut, Malt (extract, syrup, flavoring, vinegar, milk), Matzoh, matzoh meal, Modified wheat starch, Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour and whole oats, Pastas, Rye bread and flour, Semolina, Spelt, Triticale, Wheat (bran, flour, germ, starch).

Companies that wish to label their food products as Gluten Free must have the product, ingredients and equipment tested to ensure these standards are met.

Gluten Content Standards: Non-Certified Gluten Free

Foods labeled Non-Certified Gluten Free on campus have been prepared on campus and do not contain wheat, barley, rye, spelt and kamut, or their derivatives. Products using this label however are not tested, so there is no guarantee they have not been contaminated by gluten at some stage of production or distribution.

Not sure what to eat?
Need dietary advice?
Have questions about nutrition?

Email your questions to Pooja Mansukhani,
Food Services Registered Dietician at

This list below are locations which serve No Gluten Ingredient Meals. Gluten free products are available for sale at most campus locations. Please check with each specific location to verify if foods are prepared in a completely Gluten Free environment.